About the Awards

Tall stack of books showing the titles on the spines
Finalists in the 2017 WSBA.

The Washington State Book Awards honor works of outstanding literary merit by Washington authors. An award is given based on the strength of the publication’s literary merit, lasting importance and overall quality to an author who was born in Washington state or is a current resident and has maintained residence here for at least three years.

What books are eligible?

Books that are written by a Washington writer and published between January 1 and December 31 of the year prior to the award. The 2018 awards are for books published in 2017. We are currently accepting submissions for the 2018 Washington State Book Awards; deadline is February 1, 2018. We will begin accepting submissions for the 2019 awards (for books published in 2018) on March 1, 2018.

Books can be traditionally published or independently published. Please see the complete guidelines for judges to make sure your book is eligible.

Who can submit/nominate a book?

Any author or publisher can submit a book for consideration for the Washington State Book Awards. Criteria, eligibility and deadlines here. Winners and finalists are named in eight categories.

Four categories for Books for Adults: Fiction, Poetry, Biography and Memoir, General Nonfiction

Four categories for Books for Youth: Picture Books, Books for Younger Readers (ages 6 to 8), Books for Middle Grade Readers (ages 8 to 12), Books for Young Adults (ages 13 to 18)

How are finalists and winners selected?

A panel of judges comprised of librarians and booksellers evaluate every book submitted. They determine the list of finalists and winners. Our current judges are:

Judges for Books for Adults:

Kelly Evert, Manager, Village Books (Bellingham)
Zola Mumford, Librarian, North Seattle College
Brian Soneda, retired librarian (former director of Mount Vernon City Library)
Dusty Waltner, Director, Dayton Memorial Library (Columbia County Rural Library District)

Judges for Books for Youth:

Sheri Boggs, Youth Collection Development Librarian, Spokane County Library District
Tom Brown, Librarian, Seattle Public Schools
Raina Sedore, Youth Services Librarian, Timberland Library System


Who will finalists be notified?

We will notify all finalists by August 31, 2018.

How do I submit a book for consideration?

Check that the author meets our eligibility requirements, complete the online submission form, and make sure copies of the book are sent to us by the deadline! See all the details here.