2020 Washington State Book Award Winners Announced

Sara Peté/ September 25, 2020/ Books, Washington authors, Washington State Book Awards


The Washington Center for the Book has selected the 2020 Washington State Book Awards (WSBA) winners for outstanding books published by Washington authors in 2019. This is the 54th year of the program, formerly called the Governor’s Writers Awards.

A complete list of 2020 WSBA Finalists can be found here.

Picture Books

Books for Young Readers

Books for Young Adult Readers

  •  “Slay” by Brittney Morris, of Seattle (Simon & Schuster)


Creative Nonfiction


  •  “Deep River” by Karl Marlantes, of Duvall (Atlantic Monthly Press)

General Nonfiction


  • Nightingale” by Paisley Rekdal, formerly of Seattle now lives in Salt Lake City, UT (Copper Canyon Press)

These awards honor outstanding books published by Washington authors in 2019. An award is given based on the strength of the publication’s literary merit, lasting importance and overall quality to an author who is a current resident of Washington state and has maintained residence here for at least three years or previously lived in Washington state for at least five years.

Thank you to our amazing judges who read and re-read hundreds of entries. The judges are:

Adult titles:

Youth titles:

This year’s awards program is supported by a grant from the Amazon Literary Partnership.


Share this Post