PNBA 2018 Book Award Finalists!

Linda Johns/ November 10, 2017/ Washington authors

Row of book covers: "You Don't Have to Say You Love Me" by Sherman Alexie, "This Is How It Always Is" by Laurie Frankel, "Hope for Another Spring" by Barbara Johns, "The Book of Mistakes" by Corinna Luyken, "Dead Feminists" by Chanlder O'Leary, "Tides" by Jonathan WhiteCongrats to Washington authors Sherman Alexie, Laurie Frankel, Barbara Johns, Corinna Luyken, Chandler O’Leary, Jessica Spring and Jonathan White – all on the shortlist for the Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association’s 2018 Pacific Northwest Book Awards! Books considered for the awards were published between October 1, 2016 and September 30, 2017 and were written (or illustrated) by a Pacific NW author or illustrator.

Here is the full shortlist of amazing books and authors. Six authors will receive the Pacific Northwest Book Award in January.

Graphic: "PNBA 2018 Book Awards Preview"You Don’t Have to Say You Love Me by Sherman Alexie (Seattle, WA); memoir
American War by Omar El Akkad (Portland, OR); fiction
This Is How It Always Is by Laurie Frankel (Seattle, WA); fiction
All’s Faire in Middle School by Victoria Jamieson (Portland, OR); graphic novel for middle grade
The Hope of Another Spring: Takuichi Fujii, Artist and Wartime Witness by Barbara Johns (Seattle, WA); nonfiction
Speed of Life by J.M. Kelly (Gabriola Island, BC)
Little Blue Chair illustrated by Madeline Kloepper (Prince George, BC); picture book
The Selected Short Fiction of Ursula K. Le Guin (Portland, OR); fiction
The Book of Mistakes by Corinna Luyken (Olympia, WA); picture book
Dead Feminists by Chanlder O’Leary and Jessica Spring (Tacoma, WA); nonfiction
Idaho by Emily Ruskovich (Idaho City, ID); fiction
Tides: The Science and Spirit of the Ocean by Jonathan White (Orcas Island, WA); nonfiction

The longlist of books nominated can be found here.


Share this Post